Melvins detail Basses Loaded

The Melvins have confirmed they’ll release their bass-heavy new album in June.

Basses Loaded features six bass players and is issued on June 3 via Ipecac Recordings. Mainman Buzz Osborne and drummer Dale Crover are joined by Nirvana’s Krist Novoselic, Redd Kross’ Steve McDonald, Butthole Surfers’ JD Pinkus, Big Business’ Jared Warren and Mr Bungle and Fantomas man Trevor Dunn.

Crover also swaps the drum kit for bass on some tracks.

Basses Loaded includes a nod to the band’s favourite sport of baseball and features a version of Take Me Out To The Ballgame, heard regularly at ball games across North America.

The artwork and tracklist can be viewed below, with the name of the bass player in brackets after each song name.

The Melvins head out on a North American tour with Napalm Death this month, and will headline Temples Festival in Bristol in June, alongside Carcass and Mayhem.

Melvins Basses Loaded tracklist

  1. The Decay of Lying (Steve McDonald)
  2. Choco Plumbing (Jared Warren)
  3. Beer Hippie (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
  4. I Want To Tell You (Steve McDonald)
  5. Captain Come Down (JD Pinkus)
  6. Hideous Woman (Steve McDonald)
  7. Shaving Cream (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
  8. Planet Distructo (Trevor Dunn, aka Melvins Lite lineup)
  9. War Pussy (Steve McDonald)
  10. Maybe I Am Amused (Krist Novoselic)
  11. Phyllis Dillard (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)
  12. Take Me Out To The Ballgame (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 lineup)

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.