Listen to the Rolling Stones cover Chuck Berry’s Roll Over Beethoven

The Rolling Stones in 1963
The Rolling Stones in 1963 (Image credit: Getty)

The Rolling Stones have released their 1963 cover of Chuck Berry’s Roll Over Beethoven.

It’s been lifted from the band’s upcoming album On Air, which features rarely heard Stones recordings from their formative years and includes eight songs the band never recorded or released commercially – with the Berry classic being one of them.

They were originally broadcast on bygone UK BBC shows such as Saturday Club, Top Gear, Rhythm And Blues and The Joe Loss Pop Show between 1963 and 1965.

Their version of Roll Over Beethoven was recorded on the Saturday Club on October 26, 1963.

A statement on the album reads: “To help recapture the spirit of the songs when they were first performed, the tapes have gone through a process called audio source separation, which involved de-mixing the transcripts and allowing engineers at Abbey Road access to the original instrumentation and voices within each track, so that they could be rebuilt, rebalanced and remixed to achieve a fuller, more substantial sound.”

On Air will be released through Polydor Records on December 1 and is now available for pre-order (opens in new tab). Find the cover art and tracklist below.

The Rolling Stones On Air tracklist

  1. Come On (Saturday Club, 1963)
  2. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (Saturday Club, 1965)
  3. Roll Over Beethoven (Saturday Club, 1963)
  4. The Spider And The Fly (Yeah Yeah, 1965)
  5. Cops And Robbers (Blues in Rhythm, 1964)
  6. It’s All Over Now (The Joe Loss Pop Show, 1964)
  7. Route 66 (Blues in Rhythm, 1964)
  8. Memphis, Tennessee (Saturday Club, 1963)
  9. Down The Road Apiece (Top Gear, 1965)
  10. The Last Time (Top Gear, 1965)
  11. Cry To Me (Saturday Club, 1965)
  12. Mercy, Mercy (Yeah Yeah, 1965)
  13. Oh! Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin’) (Saturday Club, 1965)
  14. Around And Around (Top Gear, 1964)
  15. Hi Heel Sneakers (Saturday Club, 1964)
  16. Fannie Mae (Saturday Club, 1965)
  17. You Better Move On (Blues in Rhythm, 1964)
  18. Mona (Blues In Rhythm, 1964)

Bonus Tracks

  1. I Wanna Be Your Man (Saturday Club, 1964)
  2. Carol (Saturday Club, 1964)
  3. I’m Moving On (The Joe Loss Pop Show, 1964)
  4. If You Need Me (The Joe Loss Pop Show, 1964)
  5. Walking The Dog (Saturday Club, 1964)
  6. Confessin’ The Blues (The Joe Loss Pop Show, 1964)
  7. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love (Top Gear, 1965)
  8. Little By Little (The Joe Loss Pop Show, 1964)
  9. Ain’t That Loving You Baby (Rhythm And Blues, 1964)
  10. Beautiful Delilah (Saturday Club, 1964)
  11. Crackin’ Up (Top Gear, 1964)
  12. I Can’t Be Satisfied (Top Gear, 1964)
  13. I Just Want to Make Love To You (Saturday Club, 1964)
  14. 2120 South Michigan Avenue (Rhythm and Blues, 1964)

Rolling Stones: On Air In The Sixties by Richard Havers

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.