Listen to previously unreleased Tom Petty song Confusion Wheel

(Image credit: Samir Hussein/Redferns - Getty)

Confusion Wheel, a previously unreleased Tom Petty song, written in 1994, has been released as a preview of the forthcoming Wildflowers & All The Rest album, due for release on October 16 via Warners Records.

It’s the first song to be made available from the set’s second disc, which features unreleased material. 

Warners say that the track “eerily captures the uncertainty of 2020 if it were written yesterday and somehow twists it with infinite hope.”

Wildflowers & All The Rest follows The Best Of Everything – a career-spanning collection which launched in March this year. 

The Best Of Everything was compiled by Petty’s family and his band members and contained “personal favourites and landmark tracks” including I Won’t Back DownLearning To FlyAmerican Girl and Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around, which Petty recorded with Fleetwood Mac’s Stevie Nicks.

Tom Petty: Wildflowers & All The Rest

Tom Petty: Wildflowers & All The Rest
This expanded version of Tom Petty’s Wildflowers album is out next month and features all 25 songs from the original recording sessions along with live cuts and more.

Wildflowers & All The Rest

(Image credit: Warners Records)

Tom Petty: Wildflowers & All The Rest tracklist

1). Wildflowers

1.    Wildflowers
2.    You Don’t Know How It Feels 
3.    Time to Move On 
4.    You Wreck Me
5.    It’s Good to Be King
6.    Only a Broken Heart
7.    Honey Bee
8.    Don’t Fade on Me
9.    Hard on Me
10.    Cabin Down Below
11.    To Find a Friend
12.    A Higher Place
13.    House in the Woods
14.    Crawling Back to You
15.    Wake Up Time

2). All The Rest

1.    Something Could Happen
2.    Leaving Virginia Alone
3.    Climb That Hill Blues
4.    Confusion Wheel 
5.    California
6.    Harry Green
7.    Hope You Never
8.    Somewhere Under Heaven
9.    Climb That Hill 
10.    Hung Up and Overdue

3). Home Recordings 

1.    There Goes Angela (Dream Away)
2.    You Don’t Know How It Feels
3.    California
4.    A Feeling of Peace
5.    Leave Virginia Alone 
6.    Crawling Back to You
7.    Don’t Fade on Me
8.    Confusion Wheel 
9.    A Higher Place
10.    There’s a Break in the Rain (Have Love Will Travel)
11.    To Find a Friend
12.    Only a Broken Heart
13.    Wake Up Time
14.    Hung Up and Overdue 
15.    Wildflowers

4). Wildflowers Live

1.    You Don’t Know How It Feels
2.    Honey Bee
3.    To Find a Friend 
4.    Walls
5.    Crawling Back to You
6.    Cabin Down Below
7.    Drivin’ Down to Georgia 
8.    House in the Woods
9.    Girls on LSD
10.    Time to Move On 
11.    Wake Up Time
12.    It’s Good to Be King
13.    You Wreck Me
14.    Wildflowers

5). Alternate Versions (Finding Wildflowers)

Note: only available on 9-LP and 5-CD formats

1.    A Higher Place
2.    Hard on Me
3.    Cabin Down Below
4.    Crawling Back to You
5.    Only a Broken Heart
6.    Drivin’ Down to Georgia
7.    You Wreck Me
8.    It’s Good to Be King
9.    House in the Woods
10.    Honey Bee
11.    Girl on LSD
12.    Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
13.    Wildflowers
14.    Don’t Fade on Me
15.    Wake Up Time
16.    You Saw Me Comin’

Classic Rock

Classic Rock is the online home of the world's best rock'n'roll magazine. We bring you breaking news, exclusive interviews and behind-the-scenes features, as well as unrivalled access to the biggest names in rock music; from Led Zeppelin to Deep Purple, Guns N’ Roses to the Rolling Stones, AC/DC to the Sex Pistols, and everything in between. Our expert writers bring you the very best on established and emerging bands plus everything you need to know about the mightiest new music releases.