Skip to main content

Listen to new Ray Davies single Our Country

(Image credit: Dave Brola)
Ray Davies - Our Country: Americana Act II

1. Our Country
2. The Invaders (spoken word)
3. Back In The Day
4. Oklahoma U.S.A.
5. Bringing Up Baby
6. The Getaway
7. The Take
8. We Will Get There
9. The Real World
10. A Street Called Hope
11. The Empty Room
12. Calling Home
13. Louisiana Sky
14. March Of The Zombies
15. The Big Weird
16. Tony And Bob
17. The Big Guy
18. Epilogue
19. Muswell Kills

BUY FROM AMAZON (opens in new tab)

Ray Davies has released a stream of his new single titled Our Country.

It’s taken from his upcoming album Our Country: Americana Act II, which will launch on June 29 via Legacy Recordings/Sony Music Entertainment.

Listen to a stream of the song below.

The record follows on from Davies’ 2013 memoir Americana and last year’s album of the same name which focused on the vocalist and guitarist’s vision of the US and his experiences in the country.

Like its predecessor, Our Country: Americana Act II was recorded at London’s Konk Studios with guitarist Bill Shanley and The Jayhawks, who once again served as Davies’ backing band along with an additional group of UK musicians. 

A statement reads: “The album picks up several intriguing musical threads from Davies’ extraordinary songwriting catalogue, from the opener Our Country, which is developed from a melodic theme heard in Americana’s title track, to reinterpretations of songs inspired by America and written for various projects over the years.”

Those include Oklahoma USA which was first heard on The Kinks 1971 album Muswell Hillbillies, The Real World from his 2007 solo album Working Man’s Cafe and The Getaway from 2006’s Other People’s Lives.

In addition, it’s been announced that Davies is currently working on a theatre/film project based on both Americana and Our Country: Americana Act II, with details to follow in due course.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.