John Renbourn Group 1978 German live performance to be released

John Renbourn
(Image credit: John Renbourn)

A new live John Renbourn Group album from a 1978 live performance in Germany, A Maid In Bremen, is to be released through the Made In Germany label on February 26.

The concert was originally recorded by Radio Bremen in February 1978 and features Renbourn with his fellow Pentangle band member Jacqui McShee, multi-instrumentalist Tony Roberts, renowned Indian tabla player Keshav Sathe and the American cellist Sandy Spencer (member of the French based folk proggers Mormos.

The album's 15 tracks showcase six tracks from the early Pentangle repertoire including McShee’s solo acapella version of Westron Wynde and three songs that feature just Renbourn and McShee. You can see the artwork and tracklisting below.

“The John Renbourn Group was a natural progression from Pentangle as Tony and Keshav had collaborated with John on his earlier solo projects," says McShee. "John’s interest and passion for early music was increasing, and influences from more ethnic influences found a natural home with this line up. We have a sense of pride in the music we played - and it was a lot of fun."

Pre-order A Maid In Bremen.

John Renbourn

(Image credit: John Renbourn)

John Renbourn Group: Maid In Bremen
1. I Am A Maid That’s Deep In Love
2. Death And The Lady
3. Westron Wynde
4. Sweet Potato
5. John Barleycorn
6. Turn Your Money Green
7. My Johnny Was A Shoemaker
8. To Glastonbury
9. Gypsy Dance/Jews Dance Neusiedler Melody
10. The Maid On The Shore
11. A Maid In Bedlam
12. Sidi Brahim
13. Cruel Sister
14. Kokomo Blues
15. Will of Winsbury

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.