Ian Gillan collection set for November launch

The Ian Gillan Band in 1977
The Ian Gillan Band in 1977 (Image credit: Getty)

A new compilation featuring the work of Ian Gillan will be released on November 17.

Titled The Voice Of Deep Purple: The Gillan Years, the collection will span three CDs and feature The Ian Gillan Band’s 1977’s Scarabus, along with Gillan’s 1988 record Accidentally On Purpose and 1990’s Naked Thunder.

Along with the three albums, five bonus tracks will also be included: Smoke On The Water, Black Night, Restless, Child In Time and Woman From Tokyo. An interview with the vocalist during Gillan’s Japanese tour will also feature.

Find the cover art and full tracklist below.

Deep Purple will release a limited edition gold version of their latest studio album InFinite on November 3, which includes the previously unreleased live set recorded at this year’s Hellfest.

They’ll then hit the road across the UK in November on The Long Goodbye tour.

The Voice Of Deep Purple: The Gillan Years tracklist


  1. Gut Reaction
  2. Talking To You
  3. No Good Luck
  4. Nothing But The Best
  5. Loving On Borrowed Time
  6. Sweet Lolita
  7. Nothing To Lose
  8. Moonshine
  9. Long And Lonely Ride
  10. Love Gun
  11. No More Cane On The Brazo
  12. Smoke On The Water (Bonus Track)
  13. Black Night (Bonus Track)


  1. Scarabus
  2. Exhausted
  3. Poor Boy Hero
  4. Mercury High
  5. Pre-Release
  6. Slags To Bitches
  7. Apathy
  8. Mad Elaine
  9. Country Lights
  10. Fool’s Mate
  11. Child In Time (Bonus Track)
  12. Woman From Tokyo (Bonus Track)


  1. Clouds And Rain
  2. Evil Eye
  3. She Took My Breath Away
  4. Dislocated
  5. Via Miami
  6. I Can’t Dance To That
  7. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave
  8. Lonely Avenue
  9. Telephone Box
  10. I Thought No
  11. Cayman Island
  12. The Purple People Eater
  13. Chet
  14. Restless (Bonus Track)
  15. Interview - Ian Gillan - Japanese Tour (Bonus)

Deep Purple The Long Goodbye UK tour

Nov 17: Birmingham Barclaycard Arena
Nov 18: Manchester Arena
Nov 20: Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Nov 22: Glasgow SSE Hydro
Nov 23: London O2

Ian Gillan's 10 Favourite Gillan Songs

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.