Hawkwind detail The Machine Stops concept album

Hawkwind are to release The Machine Stops on April 15.

The follow-up to 2012’s Onward is a concept album based on E.M Forster’s dystopian sci-fi novel, also named The Machine Stops.

The album is described as “an atmospheric, musical interpretation beginning in tunnels deep beneath the earth, where every need is controlled and catered for by the machine.”

Label Cherry Red Records adds: “The struggle to escape and find a way to reach the outer surface is a utopian dream, which could prove to be the most deadly dream of all.”

Hawkwind have also added further shows to their UK tour in April.

The Machine Stops can be pre-ordered here.

Hawkwind The Machine Stops tracklist

  1. All Hail the Machine
  2. The Machine
  3. Katie
  4. King of the World
  5. In My Room
  6. Thursday
  7. Synchronised Blue
  8. Hexagone
  9. Living on Earth
  10. The Harmonic Hall
  11. Yum Yum
  12. A Solitary Man
  13. Tube
  14. Lost in Science

Hawkwind The Machine Stops UK tour dates 2016

Apr 01: Eastbourne Winter Garden
Apr 14: Cardiff Tramshed
Apr 15: Glasgow O2 ABC
Apr 16: Holmfirth Picturedrome
Apr 17: Wrexham William Aston Hall
Apr 18: Gateshead The Sage
Apr 19: Nottingham Rock City
Apr 20: Leamington Spa The Assembly
Apr 22: London Islington Assembly Hall
Apr 23: Norwich UEA
Apr 24: Stamford Corn Exchange
Apr 25: Preston Guildhall

Former TeamRock news desk member Christina joined our team in late 2015, and although her time working on online rock news was fairly brief, she made a huge impact by contributing close to 1500 stories. Christina also interviewed artists including Deftones frontman Chino Moreno and worked at the Download festival. In late 2016, Christina left rock journalism to pursue a career in current affairs. In 2021, she was named Local Weekly Feature Writer of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards.