David Hasselhoff recruits Todd Rundgren, Ministry and Tracii Guns for new album

David Hasselhoff (Image credit: Frank Hoensch/Redferns - Getty)

In April this year, it was reported that actor and singer David Hasselhoff was planning on giving his next album a metal edge.

He told Zeit Online: “I'm doing some heavy metal songs on my new album. Why not? I don’t have an album title yet, but it should read: Everything is allowed. I do everything because I can. Because I want it.”

Now, The Hoff has revealed the full tracklist and special guests who will appear on the record, which is titled Open Your Eyes – and there’s plenty for rock fans to get excited about.

Todd Rundgren guests on Jump In My Car, Tracii Guns will be heard on Here I Go Again and Billy Idol guitarist Steve Stevens appears on I Melt With You.

And, after Ministry mainman Al Jourgensen remixed Hasselhoff’s take on Neil Diamond’s Sweet Caroline with DJ Swamp in October last year, it’s no surprise to see the song on the record, too.

Open Your Eyes will be released on September 27. Find the full tracklist and guest artists below.

David Hasselhoff: Open Your Eyes
1. Open Your Eyes (ft/James Williamson)
2. Head On Feat (ft/Elliot Easton)
3. I Melt With You (ft/Steve Stevens)
4. Lips Like Sugar (ft/Flock Of Seagulls)
5. Heroes (ft/Tyler Bates)
6. Here I Go Again (ft/Tracii Guns)
7. Jump in My Car (ft/Todd Rundgren)
8. Rhinestone Cowboy (ft/Charlie Daniels)
9. If You Could Read My Mind (ft/Ava Cherry)
10. Sugar, Sugar (ft/Steve Cropper)
11. Mit 66 Jahren (ft/Patrick Moraz) (CD only)
12. Sweet Caroline (ft/Ministry)
13. That’s Life

David Hasselhoff: Open Your Eyes

David Hasselhoff: Open Your Eyes
The Hoff is back with a new album – and he's brought in a host of stars to join him on the record, including Todd Rundgren, Steve Stevens, Tracii Guns and Ministry!

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.