Clutch, Black Sabbath supergroup Dunsmuir set debut album date

Dunsmuir album cover

Dunsmuir, the supergroup led by Clutch frontman Neil Fallon and ex Black Sabbath drummer Vinny Appice, will launch their self-titled debut album on July 22.

They’re joined by The Company Band guitarist Dave Bone and Fu Manchu bassist Brad Davis on the work, which is to see a general release via iTunes accompanied by a vinyl pressing run of just 1000 copies.

The album follows the launch of three vinyl singles – Our Only Master, Deceived and …And Madness – with a fourth due tomorrow (June 15) in a run of just 500.

Fallon describes Dunsmuir as “serious metal” and adds: “The concept behind the lyrics is 10 tales from the survivors of a shipwreck. What had been a scientific expedition deteriorates into a struggle to survive both the natural and supernatural world.”

Appice says the band sound like “rock that rocks” while Bone calls it “an intense collaboration of four minds – all set on ‘destroy.’”

The vinyl album will come with a signed lithograph of the sleeve artwork and it’s available for pre-order now.

Dunsmuir tracklist

  1. Hung On The Rocks
  2. Our Only Master
  3. The Bats (Are Hungry Tonight)
  4. What Manner Of Bliss?
  5. Deceiver
  6. …And Madness
  7. Orb Of Empire
  8. Church Of The Tooth
  9. The Gate
  10. Crawling Chaos

Clutch: We’d rather take a risk and fail than play it safe

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.