At The Gates prepare to unleash The Nightmare Of Being

(Image credit: Peter Granberg)

At The Gates will release their seventh studio album, The Nightmare Of Being, on July 2 via Century Media Records.

The peculiar challenges thrown up by recording an album during a global pandemic means that the follow-up to 2018’s To Drink From The Night Itself was recorded in several different Swedish studios - drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg - with the completed collection mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios by Jens Bogren, who has previously worked with the band on their 2014 ‘comeback’ album At War With Reality.

Speaking of the concept behind the 10 track album, vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant says: "The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative…”

“It still sounds like At The Gates, 100 per cent,” he emphasises. “It is just more of everything.”

ATG cover 2021

(Image credit: Century Media)

The Nightmare Of Being track listing is:

1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason

Metal Hammer

Founded in 1983, Metal Hammer is the global home of all things heavy. We have breaking news, exclusive interviews with the biggest bands and names in metal, rock, hardcore, grunge and beyond, expert reviews of the lastest releases and unrivalled insider access to metal's most exciting new scenes and movements. No matter what you're into – be it heavy metal, punk, hardcore, grunge, alternative, goth, industrial, djent or the stuff so bizarre it defies classification – you'll find it all here, backed by the best writers in our game.