We need your consent

We and our partners use technology such as cookies on our site to personalise content and ads, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic. Click below to consent to the use of this technology across the web. Go to our Cookies Policy for more information on how we use cookies. You can change your mind and change your consent choices at any time by returning to this site.

Jon Anderson to re-release solo album 1000 Hands this summer

Former Yes vocalist Jon Anderson will re-release his 1000 Hands album in July after inking a new deal with Blue Élan Records

Jon Anderson (Image credit: Jim Spellman/WireImage/Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - Getty)

Jon Anderson has revealed that his 1000 Hands album will be released again this summer.

It’ll launch on July 31 on CD, deluxe 180-gram double vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms, after the former Yes vocalist signed a new deal with Blue Élan Records.

Anderson revealed in February 2019 that he began working on the project 30 years ago under the title Uzlot with Alan White and the late Chris Squire, and the album was briefly available from his website in 2019. 

Anderson says: “I’ve spent long periods of time making some records, but I’ve never taken a journey quite like this one. To say that 1000 Hands has been a long time in coming would be quite an understatement, but I’m thrilled that it’s finally a reality and that my fans will now be able to hear it. 

“And I think they’ll be delighted to hear music that’s timeless. It’s one of the best things I’ve ever done.” 

Anderson revisited the project 18 months ago with Grammy-nominated producer Michael T. Franklin, with Anderson reporting: “Our ideas still matched. Michael knew everything I wanted to do and how I wanted the music to sound, so we agreed to go for it.”

They settled into Franklin’s Solar Studios in Orlando to begin recording – with Franklin bringing in a raft of guest musicians to help complete the album, including Steve Howe, Ian Anderson, Jean-Luc Ponty, Billy Cobham, Chick Corea, Steve Morse, Rick Derringer, Jonathan Cain, and the Tower Of Power Horns.

Anderson says: “That’s where the title 1000 Hands comes from – all of the brilliant musicians who played a part in making the record. Michael acted like something of a casting director, bringing so many great players. It was really exciting to hear the record open up and become what I had always envisioned.”  

Franklin adds: “Jon is such a remarkable writer and singer. His newer songs were fabulous, and they fit seamlessly with the rest of the album. Everything came together beautifully.”

Anderson has released a taster of the record in the shape of Now and Ramalama which can both be listened to below.

Jon Anderson: 1000 Hands
1. Now      
2. Ramalama      
3. First Born Leaders      
4. Activate      
5. Makes Me Happy     
6. Now Variations      
7. I Found Myself      
8. Twice in a Lifetime      
9. WDMCF      
10. Come Up

Recent news