ZZ Top co-writer Wilks readies first album in 10 years

Texan guitarist Van Wilks will next month release 21st Century Blues, his first album in 10 years.

It includes his own take on Drive By Lover, a track he co-wrote with Billy Gibbons for ZZ Top’s 2012 album La Futura.

Wilks – who appears on ZZ Top’s 2014 DVD Live At Montreaux Jazz Festival – says: “We played around with the idea of years in South Austin. It was forgotten until Billy asked me if I could revive it, or even remember it.

“I sent him a few vignettes from a barely-working cassette, and a few hours later he played me the track from an LA studio. ‘Whip up some words,’ he said.”

Of his own version he adds: “Billy came out to the studio and we messed it up just right for my take.”

Gibbons says: “The playing technique Van possesses is remarkable – great style, and a very Texas-tasteful approach.”

21st Century Blues is officially released on January 29 via Texas 51 Records but it’s available now.

Van Wilks 21st Century Blues Tracklist

  1. Strange Girl
  2. Drive By Lover
  3. Golddigger
  4. Just Walk Away
  5. There’s a Sin in There Somewhere
  6. 21st Century Blues
  7. Who’s Foolin’ Who
  8. She Makes Me Crazy
  9. If I Were a Richman
  10. Can’t Stop Thinkin’
  11. Livin’ On Borrowed Time
  12. Midnight Crossing

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.