Skip to main content

Zappa reissue revealed

Frank Zappa’s 1974 album Apostrophe (‘) is to get a vinyl reissue to mark its 40th anniversary.

The album has been fully remastered and cut directly from the original quarter-inch stereo analogue master tapes and will be presented on 180-gram vinyl. It was remastered by Chris Bellman and Bernie Grundman.

The album features Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow, a track that would become Zappa’s first chart single in the US, while the album itself would peak at number 10 on the Billboard chart – Zappa’s highest charting position.

The 40th anniversary edition of Apostrophe (‘) is the latest album to be restored by the Zappa Family Trust, and Joe Travers, the Zappa Archives Vaultmaster, is working alongside Bellman on future album releases.

Zappa was posthumously inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in 1995 and received the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 1997.

Apostrophe (’) will be released on October 20.


Side one

  1. Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow

  2. Nanook Rubs It

  3. St. Alfonzo’s Pancake Breakfast

  4. Father O’Blivion

  5. Cosmik Debris

Side two

  1. Excentrifugal Forz

  2. Apostrophe

  3. Uncle Remus

  4. Stink-Foot

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.