Witch Fever bare their teeth on fierce, riff-heavy new single Beauty And Grace

Witch Fever
(Image credit: Nic Bezzina)

Witch Fever have dropped a hard-hitting new single, Beauty And Grace, lifted from their forthcoming album, Congregation, set to arrive on October 21 via Sony's Music For Nations.

Beauty And Grace sees the quartet of Manchester doom punks erupt into a thunderstorm of riff-heavy rage, while taking aim at the unattainable and oppressive standards set for womxn. 

Speaking of the track, vocalist Amy Walpole explains, "Beauty and Grace ended up being the dark horse of the record! Before we went into the studio it wasn’t one of our faves but [producer/Pigs x 7 guitarist] Sam [Grant] really brought it out of its shell!

"The song is about pushing back against oppressive feminine beauty standards whilst also finding a place for femininity that you enjoy and makes you feel powerful"

"Femininity is not a weakness, as much as society may tell you it is! If it empowers you and brings you joy it’s a strength!”.

Of the creative process behind the album, the vocalist adds: “As our first album we’re really excited to just get it out there. We feel that it’s a step above what we’ve done before as we had a chance to experiment with sound and structure. It was our first opportunity to explore writing a body of work which was challenging but has been so rewarding!

“It pushed our creative process because we also had to think about the songs sitting side by side on an album! We tried to break out of what makes a typical ‘witch fever’ song whilst still being true to what makes our sound what it is.”

Later this month, Witch Fever will be playing a short-run of shows to celebrate the release of their album, with dates in Brighton (Resident, October 21), London (Rough Trade East, October 22), Leeds (Crash Records, October 24), and Manchester (Yes, October 25), with a second London show upcoming at The Victoria in Dalston on November 15. 

Watch the lyric video for Beauty And Grace below:

Congregation tracklist:

01. Blessed Be Thy
02. Beauty and Grace
03. At The Core
04. Congregation
05. Deadlights
06. Market
07. I Saw You Dancing
08. Snare
09. Bloom
10. Sour
11. Bloodlust
12. Slow Burn
13. 12

Witch Fever

(Image credit: Sony's Music For Nations)
Liz Scarlett

Liz works on keeping the Louder sites up to date with the latest news from the world of rock and metal. Prior to joining Louder as a full time staff writer, she completed a Diploma with the National Council for the Training of Journalists and received a First Class Honours Degree in Popular Music Journalism. She enjoys writing about anything from neo-glam rock to stoner, doom and progressive metal, and loves celebrating women in music.