Watch Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators deliver Shadow Life live

Slash with Myles Kennedy
Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators (Image credit: Roadrunner Records)

Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators have released a video showcasing their track Shadow Life.

The performance of the World On Fire track will feature on the upcoming concert film Living The Dream Tour, which is set to arrive on September 20 through Eagle Vision.

The footage was captured earlier this year at London’s Hammersmith Apollo and will launch on DVD/2CD, Blu-ray/2CD, 3LP black vinyl, limited edition 3LP red vinyl, digital video and digital audio.

Speaking about Shadow Life, Slash told Classic Rock: “When we did Apocalyptic Love, there was a song called You’re A Lie. We wrote that when we were rehearsing before recording. Then, all of a sudden, it wasn’t flowing. So on the spur of the moment we tore out the riff, wrote a new chorus and that became You’re A Lie

"After that, we were racking our brains what to do with the riff. I kept dicking around with it and writing new parts. It was the most laboured song on the record because of its origins, but we found a good chorus and it became the song it is now."

Kennedy added: “I loved the TV show Mad Men, and that was the inspiration for this. The main character in Mad Men, Don Draper, leads this kind of double life. The song illustrates how complex life can become when you’re trying to lie to yourself and lie to your family.”

In July, Slash, Kennedy, Todd Kerns, Brent Fitz and Frank Sidoris shared a trailer for the package along with a live clip of Anastasia.

The band recently wrapped up a North American tour, with Slash set to hook up with Guns N’ Roses again at the end of September for the next leg of their Not In This Lifetime tour.

(Image credit: Eagle Rock)

Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators: Living The Dream Tour
1. The Call Of The Wild
2. Halo
3. Standing In The Sun
4. Ghost
5. Back From Cali
6. My Antidote
7. Serve You Right
8. Boulevard Of Broken Hearts
9. Shadow Life
10. We’re All Gonna Die
11. Doctor Alibi
12. Lost Inside The Girl
13. Wicked Stone
14. Mind Your Manners
15. Driving Rain
16. By The Sword
17. Nightrain
18. Starlight
19. You’re A Lie
20. World On Fire
21. Avalon
22. Anastasia

Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators: Living The Dream Tour

Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators: Living The Dream Tour
Slash ft Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators celebrate their 2019 European tour with the live package which is packed with an abundance of classic tracks.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.