Townshend solo work reissued

Eleven of the Who mastermind Pete Townshend’s solo albums have been relaunched digitally.

He’s signed a deal with UMC/Universal Music to release 1972’s Who Came First, 1977’s Rough Mix, 1980’s Empty Glass, 1982’s All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes, 1983’s Scoop, 1985’s White City, 1986’s Deep End Live, 1987’s Another Scoop, 1989’s Iron Man: The Musical, 1993’s Psychoderelict and 1994’s Scoop 3. They are out now via iTunes (opens in new tab) and Spotify.

In addition, all 11 discs will be remastered and launched on CD later this year and into 2016.

Townshend says on his website: “The reissue programme is still in the planning stages, so what bonus material will be included and what other formats these will be available in are still to be decided.”

They’re being released to tie in with the Who’s 50th anniversary celebrations. The band’s 11 studio albums are to be relaunched on vinyl on March 23 along with The Brunswick Singles Box 1965-1966 on April 6.

They were forced to postpone two of their London shows in December after frontman Roger Daltrey was ordered to rest his voice. They’ll now take place at the city’s O2 Arena on March 22 ands 23.The Who also play at the British Summer Time festival at London’s Hyde Park on June 26.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.