The Mission’s Simon Hinkler announces new solo EP

(Image credit: Andrew Benge/Redferns - Getty)

The Mission’s Simon Hinkler has announced that he’ll release a new EP later this year.

It’s titled Moving On and it’ll arrive on September 7 via Correctitude Records. It’s the guitarist’s first solo record since 2005’s Lose The Faith.

Hinkler initially left The Mission in 1990 following the release of Carved In Sand and the subsequent tour, but reunited with Wayne Hussey and Craig Adams full time in 2011 after guesting on 2007’s God Is A Bullet.

He appeared on The Mission's last two albums The Brightest Light and Another Fall From Grace, but with The Mission currently on a break after celebrating their 30th anniversary, Hinkler has turned his attention to a solo record.

He says: “Every time I come back to making music I’m reminded why I started doing it in the first place. This EP has been a long time coming but I'm very pleased with the way it's turned out.”

Hinkler played the majority of instruments on the EP but was joined by bassist Shaun Perry on Virginia and by bassist and clarinet player Tony Mastandrea, drummer Tony Forbes and guitarist Dana Wingfield on Friends.

Simon Hinkler - Moving On

1. It Isn’t You 
2. Virginia 
3. Friends 
4. What More Do We Know ?
5. Moving On 

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.