The Get Up Kids are back with new album Problems - check out video for Satellite

The Get Up Kids

Kansas City rockers The Get Up Kids have announced they’ll release a new studio album this spring.

It’s titled Problems and it’s set to arrive on May 10 via Big Scary Monsters. It’s the band’s first full-length record since 2011’s There Are Rules and follows their 2018 EP Kicker.

Guitarist Jim Suptic says: “I’m 41 now, I could never write a song like when I was 19 – all those ‘I miss my girlfriend’ kind of songs. It’s always important to us to write about wherever we are right now.”

Vocalist and guitarist Matt Pryor adds: “A big part of the reason why we started writing new songs in the first place is that we have things we want to say about this moment in time.

“We’re still so connected to our past and where this all came from – it’s definitely a celebration of the fact that we still get to do this.”

To mark the announcement, The Get Up Kids have launched a video for their new single titled Satellite, which can be watched below.

Pryor says: “I started writing Satellite about my son who’s 14 and a total introvert – not antisocial, he just genuinely likes to keep to himself. But then somewhere down the line I started singing about myself – about how even when you’re playing a show to a room full of people, I can still feel anxious and isolated.” 

The Get Up Kids will play at the UK’s Slam Dunk North on May 25 and Slam Dunk South the following day.

The Get Up Kids: Problems
1. Satellite
2. The Problem Is Me
3. Salina
4. Now Or Never
5. Lou Barlow
6. Fairweather Friends
7. Common Ground
8. Waking Up Alone
9. The Advocate
10. Symphony of Silence
11. Brakelines
12. Your Ghost Is Gone

The Get Up Kids: Problems

The Get Up Kids: Problems
The Get Up Kids return with their new album Problems. It's the Kansas outfit's first full-length since 2011's There Are Rules and features the lead single Satellite.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.