Skip to main content

Watch Steven Wilson discuss Kate Bush's The Dreaming on Classic Album Sundays

a portrait of kate bush
(Image credit: Gema Images\/IconicPix)

Steven Wilson is the guest on tonight's Classic Album Sundays with Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy where they'll discuss Kate Bush's fourth studio album, 1982's The Dreaming. If you missed the original broadcast you can watch the whole thing below.

The Dreaming was widely seen as Bush;'s most experimental album to date, following on from 1981's Never For Ever, which was her first Number One album. It was the first album that Bush herself handled all the production on The Dreaming, which charted at No. 3. The title track and Sat In Your Lap are probably the best known singles from the album, although There Goes A Tenner, which was also released as a single, became the first Kate Bush single not to crack the UK Top 100!

Steven Wilson, who recently released his latest album The Future Bites, has long been a fan of The Dreaming, calling it "one of my favourite albums, by Kate Bush", and has also stated that the album was a big influence on his own 2015 album Hand.Cannot.Erase..

Catch this evening's Classic Album Sunday this evening at 8pm (GMT)/9pm (CET)/4pm (EST)/1pm (PT).

Classic Album Sunday Facebook.

Classic Album Sunday YouTube.

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock, as well as sleevenotes for many major record labels. He lives in North London and happily indulges a passion for AC/DC, Chelsea Football Club and Sydney Roosters.