Simple Minds to release Street Fighting Years box set

(Image credit: UMC)

Simple Minds (opens in new tab) will release a box set celebrating their 1989 album Street Fighting Years.

The new edition was remastered at Abbey Road studios by Andrew Walters and will be presented as a 4CD set, a 2CD deluxe package and on 2LP – and it’ll be out on March 6 through UMC.

The follow-up to 1985’s Once Upon A Time (opens in new tab) featured the core trio of vocalist Jim Kerr, guitarist Charlie Burchill and keyboardist Mick MacNeil, with a raft of other musicians brought in during studio sessions, including Stewart Copeland, Leroy Williams, Mel Gaynor, Lisa Germano and Lou Reed, who provided backing vocals on This Is Your Land.

The 4CD set will include all 11 album tracks, a disc of edits, b-sides and remixes, and a double CD featuring a previously unreleased live show recorded in Verona in 1989.

The 2-disc versions will feature the original album, plus the disc of edits, b-sides and remixes.

Along with the music, the Street Fighting Years box set will also come with a booklet designed by long time Simple Minds contributor Stuart Crouch, which contains sleeve notes penned by Daryl Easlea who interviewed the band and producer Trevor Horn for the set.

Find full details below.

Simple Minds: Street Fighting Years box set (opens in new tab)

Simple Minds: Street Fighting Years box set (opens in new tab)
Simple Minds revisit their classic 1989 studio album Street Fighting Years with this new box set. It not only features all 11 album tracks, but is crammed with b-sides, extras and live cuts.

Simple Minds: Street Fighting Years Box Set

CD1: Street Fighting Years                                         
1. Street Fighting Years                                                                
2. Soul Crying Out
3. Wall of Love
4. This Is Your Land                                                                           
5. Take A Step Back                                                                          
6. Kick It In                                                                                             
7. Let It All Come Down                                                                
8. Mandela Day                                                                                 
9. Belfast Child                                                                                   
10. Biko                                                                                                      
11. When Spirits Rise 

CD2: Edits, B-Sides and Remixes                           
1. Belfast Child - Edit                                                                    
2. Mandela Day- Edit                                                                     .
3. This Is Your Land - Edit                                                           
4. Saturday Girl – B-Side                                                             
5. Year of The Dragon – B-Side                                                
6. This Is Your Land - DJ Version                                            
7. Kick It In - Edit                                                                              
8. Waterfront - '89 Remix                                                          
9. Big Sleep - Live                                                                            
10. Kick It In - Unauthorised Mix
11. Sign O' The Times - Edit                                                          
12. Let It All Come Down - Edit
13. Sign O' The Times - B-Side
14. Jerusalem B-Side                                                                      
15. Sign O' The Times - C. J. Mackintosh Remix              

CD 3: Verona Live
1. Theme for Great Cities '90                                                    
2. When Spirits Rise                                                                       
3. Street Fighting Years                                                                
4. Mandela Day                                                                                 
5. This Is Your Land                                                                          
6. Soul Crying Out                                                                             
7. Waterfront                                                                                      
8. Ghost Dancing                                                                              
9. Book of Brilliant Things
10. Don't You (Forget About Me)                                                

CD4: Verona Live cont.                                                                     
1. Gaelic Melody                                                                               
2. Kick It In                                                                                             
3. Let It All Come Down                                                                
4. Belfast Child                                                                                   
5. Sun City                                                                                              
6. Biko                                                                                                      
7. Sanctify Yourself                                                                          
8. East at Easter                                                                                
9. Alive and Kicking

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.