Ozzy Osbourne cancels 2020 tour dates to seek further medical treatment

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne (Image credit: Francesco Castaldo/Archivio Francesco Castaldo/Mondadori Portfolio - Getty)

Ozzy Osbourne has cancelled his upcoming North American tour.

The Black Sabbath icon was due to kick off his rescheduled No More Tours 2 trek in Atlanta on May 27. 

But with the vocalist still getting back to full fitness after his fall at home last year which led to the cancellation of his entire 2019 touring schedule, and his ongoing battle with Parkinson’s disease, he’s called off the dates to seek further medical treatment in Europe.

Ozzy says: “I’m so thankful that everyone has been patient because I've had a shit year. Unfortunately, I won't be able to get to Switzerland for treatment until April and the treatment takes six to eight weeks.

“I don't want to start a tour and then cancel shows at the last minute, as it's just not fair to the fans. I'd rather they get a refund now and when I do the North American tour down the road, everyone who bought a ticket for these shows will be the first ones in line to purchase tickets at that time.”

Ozzy’s UK and European tour with Judas Priest which is due to start in October remains unaffected and will go ahead as planned. 

Last week it emerged that Ozzy was first diagnosed with Parkinson’s back in 2003 during an interview with the Los Angeles Times.

In the piece, Ozzy also said he was “75% back to normal” after his 2019 health woes and added: “It’s been a pretty incredible, interesting career. People have written me off time and time again, but I kept coming back and I’m going to come back from this.

“When? I don’t know. I don’t want to go back out there until I’m ready.”

Ozzy will release his new studio album Ordinary Man on Friday through Epic Records and will hold a "worldwide tattoo event" to celebrate the launch. 

He’s also teased the track Eat Me with a short video clip which can be seen below.

Ozzy Osbourne: Ordinary Man

Ozzy Osbourne: Ordinary Man
Ozzy Osbourne returns with Ordinary Man - his first solo album since 2010's Scream. The record features a host of guests stars including Slash, Elton John and Post Malone.

Ozzy Osbourne: Ordinary Man
1. Straight To Hell (feat. Slash)
2. All My Life
3. Goodbye
4. Ordinary Man (feat. Elton John)
5. Under The Graveyard
6. Eat Me
7. Today Is The End
8. Scary Little Green Men
9. Holy For Tonight
10. It’s A Raid (feat. Post Malone)
11. Take What You Want (Post Malone feat. Ozzy Osbourne and Travis Scott)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.