New Emerson, Lake & Palmer anthology vinyl box set revealed

Emerson, Lake & Palmer

A new ELP vinyl box set has been announced – and it'll be released later this year.

The 4LP collection titled Emerson, Lake & Palmer: The Anthology (1970-1998) will arrive on May 31 via BMG and will feature “a carefully chosen selection of ELP’s finest moments alongside fan favourites.”

The vinyl has been pressed on “galaxy effect” vinyl, with the material digitally mastered from HD sources at half-speed. The box set will also come with a 12-page insert, complete with sleeve notes written by Chris Welch and photographs of the prog giants.

It's available for pre-order (opens in new tab) and a full tracklist can be found below.

Last month, Carl Palmer revealed he was planning an “A-list” 50th anniversary celebration of the band (opens in new tab), which will take place in 2020.

Palmer told Billboard Billboard:  "I'm looking at putting a show together, probably in America with some A-listers. I can't tell you who they are, but in principle as a project it looks like it's going to go through."

In the same interview, Palmer also raised the possibility of a new ELP documentary, saying: "When we were signed to Sanctuary, ELP released a documentary that was six hours long. 

"That got lost in the wash, so we're going back and re-editing that and putting together another couple of hours of documentary stuff that hasn't been seen."

Further details on both projects will be revealed in due course.

Emerson, Lake & Palmer: The Anthology (1970-1998)

Side One
1. The Barbarian
2. Take A Pebble
3. Knife-Edge
4. Lucky Man

Side Two
1. Tarkus
i. Eruption
ii. Stones Of Years
iii. Iconoclast
iv. Mass v. Manticore vi. Battlefield
vii. Aquatarkus
2. Bitches Crystal
3. A Time And A Place

Side Three
1. Promenade (Part 1)
2. The Gnome
3. Promenade (Part 2)
4. The Hut Of Baba Yaga (Part 1)
5. The Curse Of Baba
6. The Hut Of Baba Yaga (Part 2)
7. The Great Gates Of Kiev
8. Nutrocker

Side Four
1. The Endless Enigma (Part 1)
2. From The Beginning
3. Living Sin
4. Hoedown
5. Abaddon's Bolero

Side Five
1. Jerusalem
2. Still... You Turn Me On
3. Karn Evil 9 1st Impression – Part 1
4. Karn Evil 9 1st Impression – Part 2
5. Toccata

Side Six
1. Fanfare For The Common Man
2. Pirates
3. Tank Tracks

Side Seven
1. Peter Gunn Theme
2. C'est La Vie
3. Watching Over You
4. I Believe In Father Christmas
5. Honky Tonk Train Blues
6. For You
7. Canario

Side Eight
1. Farewell To Arms
2. Affairs Of The Heart
3. Romeo And Juliet
4. Daddy
5. Hand Of Truth
6. Tiger In A Spotlight

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.