Muse to revisit their early days with new box set release

Muse in 1999 (Image credit: Jim Dyson - Getty)

Muse have revealed plans to revisit their early days in a new box set that’ll be released later this year.

Origin Of Muse will span 9CD and 4LP and has been brought together to mark the 20th anniversary of Muse’s debut album Showbiz, with the box set chronicling the band’s early demos, EPs, b-sides and live shows up to and including their 2001 breakthrough album Origin Of Symmetry.

Remasters of both Showbiz and Origin Of Symmetry will also be included, with the release date set for December 6. 

Origin Of Muse will be presented in a 48-page book with anti-scratch and matte laminated finish with a spot gloss. It'll include interviews with Matt Bellamy, Dominic Howard and Chris Wolstenholme, where they reflect of the early days of the band.

The book will also feature memorabilia including posters, photographs, setlists and contact sheets, which can be pulled from the book, along with original artwork for all CDs and vinyl.

In total, Origin Of Muse will contain 113 tracks – more than 40 of which have been previously unreleased.

Find a full list of the box set’s contents below.

Muse are currently on their Simulation Theory World Tour and will return to the UK later this month.

Origin Of Muse contents

CD 1: Newton Abbot Demos
1. Cave 
2. Rain 
3. Agitated 
4. Crazy Days 
5. Coma 
6. Connect The Kettle Lead 
7. Balloonatic 
8. Boredom 
9. Sober 
10. Jimmy Kane 
11. Ashamed
12. Plug In Baby
13. Earthquake
14. Good News
15. Overdue 

CD 2: Muse EPs & Showbiz demos 
1. Overdue
2. Cave 
3. Coma 
4. Escape
5. Muscle Museum 
6. Sober 
7. Uno 
8. Unintended
9. Pink Ego Box
10. (Muscle Museum) #2 
11. Showbiz (Live, Sawmills Studios, 1998)
12. Do We Need This (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)
13. Sunburn (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)
14. Overdue (Live, Fortress Studios, 1999)15. Uno (Alternate version, Rak Studios, 1999)

CD 3: Showbiz
1. Sunburn
2. Muscle Museum 
3. Fillip 
4. Falling Down 
5. Cave 
6. Showbiz
7. Unintended
8. Uno 
9. Sober
10. Spiral Static (Bonus track)
11. Escape 
12. Overdue 
13. Hate This & I'll Love You 

CD 4: Showbiz B-Sides
1. Recess (Unreleased alternate version, Trident Studios, 1999)
2. Jimmy Kane 
3. Forced In
4. Agitated
5. Twin 
6. Host
7. Do We Need This?
8. Con-Science 
9. Minimum
10. Ashamed
11. Yes Please
12. Recess
13. Nishe

CD 5: Showbiz Live
1. Uno (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
2. Cave (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
3. Muscle Museum (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
4. Falling Down (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
5. Fillip (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
6. Do We Need This (Live, The Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth, 1999)
7. Agitated (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
8. Sunburn (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
9. Plug In Baby (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
10. Showbiz (Live, The Astoria, London, 2000)
11. Cave (Acoustic live demo, Airfield Studios, 1999)
12. Muscle Museum (Acoustic live demo, Airfield Studios, 1999)

CD 6: Origin Of Symmetry Instrumental Demos
1. Micro Cuts
2. Feeling Good
3. Space Dementia 
4. Hyper Music 
5. Citizen Erased 
6. Megalomania 
7. Screenager 
8. Shrinking Universe 
9. Shine 

CD 7: Origin Of Symmetry
1. New Born
2. Bliss
3. Space Dementia 
4. Hyper Music 
5. Plug In Baby 
6. Citizen Erased 
7. Micro Cuts 
8. Screenager 
9. Darkshines
10. Feeling Good
11. Futurism (Bonus track)
12. Megalomania 

CD 8: Origin Of Symmetry B-sides
1. Nature 1
2. Execution Commentary
3. Bedroom Acoustics
4. Shrinking Universe
5. Piano Thing
6. Map Of Your Head
7. The Gallery
8. Hyper Chondriac Music
9. Shine
10. Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want
11. Dead Star
12. In Your World
13. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You

CD 9: Origin Of Symmetry: Live At The Reading Festival
1. New Born
2. Bliss 
3. Space Dementia 
4. Hyper Music 
5. Plug In Baby 
6. Citizen Erased 
7. Micro Cuts 
8. Screenager 
9. Darkshines
10. Feeling Good 
11. Megalomania

Vinyl 1-4:
Showbiz and Origin Of Symmetry remastered on 180g heavyweight coloured vinyl

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.