Mike Oldfield’s Discovery gets remastered

Mike Oldfield’s 1984 album Discovery is to be re-released in an extended format.

The remastered title, which includes classic tracks The Lake and To France, will arrive on January 29.

The 3-disc edition includes 28-minute piece The 1984 Suite, based on tracks from Discovery and The Killing Fields, a new version of Poison Arrows – renamed Zombies – a 5.1 mix and three promo videos.

It will also be available in vinyl, standard digital and HD digital editions. It’s available for pre-order now.


CD1: remastered album

  1. To France
  2. Poison Arrows
  3. Crystal Gazing
  4. Tricks Of The light
  5. Discovery
  6. Talk About Your Life
  7. Saved By A Bell
  8. The Lake

Bonus tracks

  1. To France (extended version)
  2. In The Pool
  3. Bones
  4. Afghan
  5. Tricks Of The Light (instrumental)

CD2: The 1984 Suite

To France / The Lake / The Killing Fields (Main theme) / Etude / The Royal Mile (Rediscovered track) / Zombies (Halloween Special) / Discovery


The 1984 Suite
5.1 Surround Sound Mix by Mike Oldfield
Stereo Mix by Mike Oldfield
To France video
Tricks Of The Light video
Etude video

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.