Skip to main content

Listen to new track from Mike & The Mechanics

Mike & The Mechanics
Mike & The Mechanics

Mike & The Mechanics have released a new track from their upcoming album.

Don’t Know What Came Over Me features on Mike Rutherford, Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar’s Let Me Fly, which will launch on April 4 via BMG.

Speaking about the new track, Rutherford explains: “Here’s this guy who’s happily married, loves his lady and everything’s wonderful. Then, one night, he goes AWOL and loses everything by having a one night-stand.

“It was a moment of madness and he’s beyond remorseful. Was he forgiven? The song just leaves him hanging. And no, it’s not autobiographical!”

As for the rest of the album, Rutherford reports: “For me, it’s about proving I can write a good song, but the older you get, the less you let yourself off with ‘it’s not bad’, the less you pretend and the tougher you are on yourself.

“The hardest part of the whole process is staying relevant, but anyone who says success doesn’t matter is a liar – what you really want is people to like it.

“Then you feel it’s all been worth it. It’s as simple as that. Oh, and my wife loves it, more than she’s loved an album of mine for a while! Trust me, that’s a really good sign.”

Mike & The Mechanics are currently on the road across the UK and will support Phil Collins at the British Summer Time Festival at London’s Hyde Park on Friday, June 30.

The Let Me Fly cover

The Let Me Fly cover

Mike & The Mechanics Let me Fly tracklist

  1. Let Me Fly
  2. Are You Ready
  3. Wonder
  4. The Best Is Yet To Come
  5. Save The World
  6. High Life
  7. Don’t Know What Came Over Me
  8. The Letter
  9. Not Out Of Love
  10. Love Left Over
  11. I’ll Be There For You
  12. Save My Soul
Scott Munro

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN.