Listen to 'lost' Dream The Electric Sleep album The Giants’ Newground in full

Dream The Electric Sleep - The Giants' Newground

1. Home
2. We Smell The Blood
3. Father Francis
4. This Is My Crowd
5. We’ll Se
6. The Stage
7. One Last Fix
8. It Will All Be Over Soon
9. Black Ink
10. The River Current
11. Sounds Like Magic
12. Interlude
13. Soulful
14. Astray
15. Head Out of the Clouds
16. Dirt Under Your Feet

Dream The Electric Sleep have made their 'lost' album The Giants' Newground available to stream in full exclusively with Prog.

The album will officially launch on Friday (May 18) but Prog readers can listen to all 16 tracks below.

The record was originally written and recorded by Matt Page and Joey Waters in 2008 before Dream The Electric Sleep officially formed – with the duo later joined by bassist Chris Tackett

Page says: “The Giants’ Newground is a bookend for us. In many ways the album, which preceded the formation of Dream The Electric Sleep, represents a certain way of approaching our musical paradigm. 

“It highlights the seeds that led to the band’s first three albums. In it you can hear certain lyrical and compositional preferences that evolved all the way through our last album Beneath The Dark Wide Sky

“We were able to take all that we learned from our first three releases and re-apply them to the revisited version of The Giants’ Newground. In this way, I see these four albums as linked, an evolution of that first paradigm."

Page adds: “Since the band has also been writing our next album to be released in 2019, we can see a clear difference in our creative intent. It marks a different phase for the band, maybe a new writing paradigm? 

"Now, with the release this lost album, the first four albums can be heard as a series of attempts to chase and capture something similar, but now it is time to close that book and begin a new one.”

Further details about the band’s next release will be revealed in due course.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.