Skip to main content

Listen to Coldbones' sweeping new single Ruin

Coldbones (Image credit: Incendia Music)

Coldbones (opens in new tab) have launched a stream of their brand new single titled Ruin.

It’s the latest material taken from the UK instrumental outfit’s upcoming concept album The Cataclysm, which is set to arrive on April 17 through Dunk! Records.

The trio shared a video for the lead track Collapse last month.

Coldbones say: "Ruin draws attention to the realisation that the Earth will never be the same again. A sombre and atmospheric landscape symbolises the devastation and mourning of a world that was once thriving with habitation, species and lush vegetation. 

“Now, the knowledge that was once shared between many stands still in time, below the burning sun upon the hinterlands.”

Musically, Ruin is said to further demonstrate “the pure dynamic force and atmospheric power of the band's combined arsenal of post-rock, prog, shoegaze and traditional metal.”

The Cataclysm is split into two halves: The Flooding Of The World and The Burning Of The Earth. Find the full tracklist and cover art below, along with pre-order details.

(opens in new tab)

Coldbones: The Cataclysm (opens in new tab)
UK post-rock instrumental outfit Coldbones are preparing to release their new concept album The Cataclysm. The record will include the lead tracks Collapse and Ruin.

Coldbones: The Cataclysm

The Flooding Of The World

1. Collapse
2. Tide
3. Cleanse
4. Ascend

The Burning Of The Earth
1. Ruin
2. Consume
3. Hinterlands
4. Extinct

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.