Led Zep unleash basic Black Dog

Led Zeppelin have released the basic mix version of Black Dog from the Led Zeppelin IV remaster set, out next month.

It’s one of the tracks on the companion disc, curated by guitarist Jimmy Page, who also oversaw the new production of the 1971 album.

He tells Rolling Stone: “Black Dog is obviously one of the songs Led Zeppelin is really noted for. It’s one of the powerhouse numbers that we did with an incredible riff. The version on the companion disc is a rough mix in its early stage with minimal guitar overdubs and Robert’s original vocal. You can hear how mean it is.”

The Led Zeppelin IV remaster is released on October 27, alongside Houses Of The Holy.


Original album

  1. Black Dog

  2. Rock And Roll

  3. The Battle of Evermore

  4. Stairway To Heaven

  5. Misty Mountain Hop

  6. Four Sticks

  7. Going To California

  8. When The Levee Breaks

Companion disc

  1. Black Dog - Basic Track With Guitar Overdubs

  2. Rock And Roll - Alternate Mix

  3. The Battle Of Evermore - Mandolin/Guitar Mix From Headley Grange

  4. Stairway To Heaven - Sunset Sound Mix

  5. Misty Mountain Hop - Alternate Mix

  6. Four Sticks - Alternate Mix

  7. Going To California - Mandolin/Guitar Mix

  8. When The Levee Breaks - Alternate UK Mix

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.