Kinks man Dave Davies launches poignant video for Web Of Time

Dave Davies
(Image credit: Kevin R Harmon)

Kinks legend Dave Davies has launched a video for Web Of Time. The track is taken from Davies' album Decade, which was released in October, and featured previously unreleased tracks written by the guitarist in the decade prior to the release of his debut solo album, AFL1-3603, in 1980. 

"Web of Time is a previously unreleased song I wrote and recorded in the mid-1970s, which has been embellished for the Decade album," says Davies. "It's about my feelings and reflections about where we stand as people and what we are doing to each other, why we do the things we do. Questioning life -  is it just chaos or is there more to it? I think it's poignant for these times."

The video for Web Of Time cuts modern-day footage with previously unseen footage and photos from Davies' personal archive, with clips of Dave with his brother-in-law Mike - who was instrumental in Dave and Ray Davies' early musical development - alongside Dave's sister Dolly. 

It also contains footage from the upcoming documentary film Dave Davies: Strangers.

Decade Track Listing

1.  Cradle to the Grave
2.  Midnight Sun
3.  Islands
4.  If You Are Leaving
5.  Web of Time
6.  Mystic Woman
7.  Give You All My Love
8.  The Journey
9.  Within Each Day
10.  Same Old Blues
11.  Mr. Moon
12.  Shadows
13.  This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)

Dave Davies - Decade

Dave Davies - Decade

Although not necessarily written with The Kinks in mind, Decade includes "songs from, like, '72, '75, right through that decade," as well as one or two tracks recorded but not used for AFL1-3603. Midnight Sun was inspired by Dave’s friendship with a school friend who later fell deep into the hole of drugs, and whose early death affected Dave profoundly, personally and creatively. There are also two instrumental tracks including The Journey intended as an overture for a project that remains elusive.

Dave Davies - Decade

Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.