Katatonia reveal The Great Cold Distance anniversary edition

A promotional picture of Katatonia
Katatonia (Image credit: Ester Segarra)

Katatonia have announced a 10th anniversary version of 2006 album The Great Cold Distance.

It will be released in a four disc deluxe hardback 40-page book edition on January 20 next year, while a double gatefold vinyl version arrives earlier, on December 9.

The 4CD version includes three bonus discs featuring b-sides and bonus songs, a new 5.1 remix of the album by Bruce Soord and a live album of Katatonia playing The Great Cold Distance in its entirety with the Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra in Bulgaria in September 2016.

Guitarist Anders Nystrom says: “Looking back at our set lists from a historic perspective, it dawned on us that there’s been no other album from which we played more songs than The Great Cold Distance, so in the light of its 10th anniversary this year, it’s with much pride and joy to announce the ultimate edition featuring all the scattered bits and pieces related to this album.”

The Great Cold Distance was Katatonia’s seventh studio album and was recorded and mixed at Fascination Street, Orebro Sweden, produced by Nystrom/Renkse on and co-produced, mixed & engineered by Jens Bogren & David Castillo.

The album featured 3 singles, now classic Katatonia songs – “My Twin”, “July” and “Deliberation”. Vocalist Jonas Renkse, at the time of the album’s release stated: “While embracing this album one must know that it will only help to increase the coldness between us. It’s a devious life. And this is a soundtrack to it.”

The 4CD and 2LP versions are available for pre-order now, along with a 2LP red vinyl edition.

Katatonia released their 10th album The Fall Of Hearts earlier this year.

Katatonia The Fall Of Hearts 2LP tracklist


  1. Leaders
  2. Deliberation
  3. Soil’s Song
  4. My Twin
  5. Consternation


  1. Follower
  2. Rusted
  3. Increase
  4. July
  5. In The White


  1. The Itch
  2. Journey Through Pressure
  3. My Twin (Opium Dub Version)
  4. Displaced
  5. Dissolving Bonds


  1. In The White (Urban Dub)
  2. Code Against The Code
  3. Soil’s Song (Krister Linder 2012 Remix)
  4. Unfurl

Discs Of Doom: Katatonia's Jonas Renkse

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.