Katatonia return with mournful new single Lacquer

Katatonia (Image credit: Ester Segarra)

Katatonia have announced their return by releasing their new single Lacquer.

The track has been taken from the band’s upcoming studio album titled City Burials, which will be released on April 24 through Peaceville.

Speaking about the follow-up to 2016’s The Fall Of Hearts, guitarist Anders Nyström says: “In days and nights of black and silver, the dead end king will come.

“From pieces of broken mirrors there will be a crown bestowed upon his head. In reflections of shattered glass not only the seasons will turn, but also the change disguised by the lapse of time. 

“His mind will have to come to bear the weight of everything that was left behind and forgotten. Archiving the inaccessible. Celebrating the abandoned and mourning the destroyed. The city burials.”

City Burials will be released on CD, deluxe mediabook CD with two bonus tracks, black and coloured vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms.

It was engineering by Karl Daniel Lidén, while mixing and mastering duties were handled by Jacob Hansen, who says: “Once in a while you end up working with artists that are special, and that particular session being something you’ll remember forever. 

“This session is one of them, and only for good things! Proud to say I mixed and mastered the new Katatonia album.”

The cover of City Burials was created by Lasse Hoile.

Katatonia will perform at several festivals over the summer months, with details on a headline tour set to be revealed in the coming weeks.

Katatonia: City Burials

Katatonia: City Burials
Katatonia are poised to release their brand new studio album City Burials. The follow-up to 2016’s The Fall Of Hearts will arrive in April and feature the lead single Lacquer.

Katatonia: City Burials
1. Heart Set To Divide
2. Behind The Blood
3. Lacquer 
4. Rein
5. The Winter Of Our Passing
6. Vanishers
7. City Glaciers
8. Flicker
9. Lachesis
10. Neon Epitaph
11. Untrodden
12. Closing Of The Sky (Bonus)
13. Fighters (Bonus)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.