Bruce Dickinson to release solo box set

Bruce Dickinson
(Image credit: Iron Maiden LLP \/ Annamarie DiSanto)

Iron Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson will re-release his six solo albums on vinyl and in a box set later this year, he’s confirmed.

The October 27 launch ties in with the publication of his autobiography What Does This Button Do?, which arrives on October 18.

Soloworks: The Vinyl Collection includes Tattooed Millionaire (1990), Balls To Picasso (1994), Skunkworks (1996), Accident Of Birth (1997), The Chemical Wedding (1998) and Tyranny Of Souls (2005).

A statement explains: “Bruce Dickinson’s six solo albums have been cut from the original masters for reissue on heavyweight, black 180g vinyl in artworked sleeves.

“Two of the titles, The Chemical Wedding and Tyranny Of Souls, are being made available for the first time ever on vinyl. The four previously available have been long out of print, with the latter two titles now expanded to double LPs for optimum sound.

“These albums are an essential part of Bruce’s story outside of Maiden and, more importantly, some of the most vital and absorbing metal albums of the last three decades. Revisit them now at maximum volume.”

The box set comes complete with a bonus double-sided poster, and the collection plus individual albums are all available for pre-order now.

Iron Maiden recently completed touring duties in support of 2015 album The Book Of Souls. Guitarist Dave Murray said in June that the band had no plans to slow down, and that fans should expect “some surprises” next year.

Bruce Dickinson: I Knew I'd Joined A Great Band. I Knew I Could Make It Better

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.