Skip to main content

Immortal complete work on new album

Immortal (Image credit: H\u00e5kon Grav)

Immortal report that they’ve finished work on their ninth studio album.

The follow-up to 2009’s All Shall Fall will be their first without vocalist and guitarist Olve Eikemo, aka Abbath, who split acrimoniously with the Norwegian outfit in 2015.

The as-yet-untitled album has been produced by Peter Tägtgren, who was also behind the desk on At The Heart Of Winter, Damned In Black, Sons Of Northern Darkness and All Shall Fall. He also plays bass on the record.

Vocalist and guitarist Demonaz and drummer Horgh say: “We have put a massive amount of energy into this, and wanted to deliver our absolutely best.

“It has been a pleasure to finish the studio process and most of all being stoked about the final result. Peter Tägtgren has done an outstanding job in producing and mixing it.

“We now look forward to have it released, and are excited to share our ninth full-length with you all.”

While no firm launch date has been confirmed, it will arrive later this year via Nuclear Blast Records, with the band revealing the names of the tracks. See details below.

Immortal ninth album tracklist

  1. Northern Chaos Gods
  2. Into Battle Ride
  3. Gates To Blashyrkh
  4. Grim And Dark
  5. Called To Ice
  6. Where Mountains Rise
  7. Blacker Of Worlds
  8. Mighty Ravendark

Immortal break silence over Abbath split

Scott Munro

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN.