Ian Anderson will release new lyric book in June

Ian Anderson
(Image credit: Rocket 88)

Ian Anderson will release a new lyric book in June. Silent Singing collects the complete lyrics from all of the Jethro Tull and Anderson's solo albums in one deluxe, landscape hardback book.

It also includes 30 photographs taken by Anderson to illustrate certain songs, specially written introductions specially written introductions to each album and scans of original, hand-written song lyrics.

Silent Singing will be published by Rocket 88 books, the publishing company behind recent books about Jethro Tull and Opeth, later this year. Anderson introduces the new book in a teaser video which you can watch below.

"Ian has combed through everything from This Was in 1968 to present day, taking in all of his solo albums and tracks released only on box sets and compilations, to collate more than 300 song lyrics," says the publishers. "After listening to original masters, checking notebooks and song sheets, Ian is confident that this book represents the complete, collected lyrics of his more than six decade-long career."

There will be two hardback editions of Silent Singing, one of which will be signed and come with an exclusive art print of an Ian Anderson original photograph.

Fans can sign up now for a chance to get a copy at a pre-order discount, a name printed in the book and all the news — including the first choice of a Classic or Signature editions.

Sign up here.

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.