Grand Magus detail Sword Songs

Grand Magus have confirmed their eighth album will be released in May.

Sword Songs is issued on May 13 via Nuclear Blast and features cover artwork created by artist Anthony Roberts. It can be viewed below, along with the album tracklist.

The album is the follow-up to the Swedish band’s 2014 effort Triumph And Power.

Frontman Janne ‘JB’ Christoffersson says: “We put all of our sweat, blood and tears into this new album and I think that you can hear that.

“For me, Sword Songs is the best Grand Magus album ever. The new songs are faster and more aggressive than on Triumph And Power - and we have also included some more extreme and harder stuff. I’m convinced that there are some future classics on the disc.”

The CD digipak version of the album includes a cover of Deep Purple’s Stormbringer. The LP version is available to pre-order now.


  1. Freja’s Choice
  2. Varangian
  3. Forged In Iron - Crowned In Steel
  4. Born For Battle (Black Dog Of Broceliande)
  5. Master Of The Land
  6. Last One To Fall
  7. Frost And Fire
  8. Hugr
  9. Everyday There’s A Battle To Fight
  10. In For The Kill (Bonus track)
  11. Stormbringer (Bonus track)

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.