Deep Purple launch t-shirts to support their road crew

Deep Purple
Deep Purple (Image credit: Ben Wolf)

Deep Purple (opens in new tab) have launched two special t-shirts to help raise cash for their road crew.

The first titled the Perfect Crew Shirt carries the ‘DP’ logo, while the Whoosh Crew T-Shirt features the cover design from their upcoming 21st studio album. Both are available to purchase now (opens in new tab).

Deep Purple say: “Behind every band is a hard working crew. We all know the financial impact COVID-19 has had on so many, including the Deep Purple Crew, who work so hard to bring you, the fans, the shows you love.

“We have produced these exclusive crew shirts, with 100% of the profits going to help support the Crew. Thank you and hope to see you soon!”

Deep Purple were originally scheduled to release their new album Whoosh! earlier this month, but were forced to push the launch back to August 7.

Explaining the decision, frontman Ian Gillan said: “For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction... well, not exactly in this case – more cause and effect, where the latter is often greater than the former.

“Distribution lines – the physical sales of CDs, vinyl, cassettes etc – and retail outlets are closed until The Dreaded Lurgy gets indigestion.

“Therefore, as there are still so many of us who love to hold a new record in our hands, and following advice from our magnificent label, we have decided to delay the release of Whoosh! until August.”

Deep Purple have shared two singles from the follow-up to 2017’s InFinite – Throw My Bones and Man Alive.

Deep Purple: Whoosh! (opens in new tab)

Deep Purple: Whoosh! (opens in new tab)
Deep Purple will return with their new album Whoosh! in August. It'll be the follow-up to 2017's InFinite and include the lead singles Throw My Bones and Man Alive.

(Image credit: earMusic)

Deep Purple: Whoosh!
1. Throw My Bones
2. Drop The Weapon
3. We're All The Same In The Dark
4. Nothing At All
5. No Need To Shout
6. Step By Step
7. What The What
8. The Long Way Round
9. The Power Of The Moon
10. Remission Possible
11. Man Alive
12. And The Address
13. Dancing In My Sleep

While you’re here, why not take advantage of our brilliant new subscribers’ offer? Get a digital pay monthly subscription for as little as £1.78 per month (opens in new tab) and enjoy the world’s best high voltage music journalism delivered direct to your device.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.