Skip to main content

Cursive return with new album and single

Cursive have confirmed that they’ll release a new studio album later this year.

The follow-up to 2012’s I Am Gemini is titled Vitriola and it’s set to arrive on October 5 via Big Scary Monsters in the UK and through their own label Passenger Records in the US.

And to mark the announcement, the Nebraska outfit have released a stream of the record’s lead single Life Savings, which can be listened to below.

Vocalist Tim Kasher says: “This song reminds me of machinery, maybe a train that keeps chugging forward, or perhaps a printing press printing 'money'.

“It also feels as though it's burdened with a heavy weight and, for many of us, the weight of worrying about money can be all consuming.”

Vitriola sees Kasher, guitarist Ted Singer and bassist Matt Magian reunite with founding member and drummer Clint Schnase for the first time since 2006’s Happy Hollow.

The lineup is completed by keyboardist Patrick Newbery and cellist Megan Siebe.

Cursive are expected to reveal tour dates in the near future.

Cursive - Vitriola

1. Free To Be Or Not To Be You And Me
2. Pick Up The Pieces
3. It’s Gonna Hurt
4. Under The Rainbow
5. Remorse
6. Ouroboros
7. Everending
8. Ghost Writer
9. Life Savings
10. Noble Soldier / Dystopian Lament

(opens in new tab)

Cursive - Vitriola (opens in new tab)
Nebraska's Cursive return with Vitriola – their first studio album since 2012's I Am Gemini, featuring the punchy lead single Life Savings.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.