Clive Mitten reworks Floyd, Genesis, Rush, Supertramp and more on new album

Clive Mitten
(Image credit: Clive Mitten)

Former Twelfth Night bassist and C:Live Collective mainstay Clive Mitten has announced details of his upcoming new album Tales From A Misspent Youth – Volume 1 which he will release on January 28.

The new album sees Mitten continuing the orchestral style of Suite Cryptique: Recomposing Twelfth Night 1978-1983, which was released earlier this year and saw Mitten rework material from Twelfth Night's back catalogue. Tales From a Misspent Youth... sees Mitten tackling the progressive music of the 70s that inspired him as a youth.

"14 months in the making, this album is my tribute to those who inspired me in my teens to become a musician, Mitten explains. "I could already play the piano and classical guitar, but aged 12 I encountered ‘prog' for the first time. I saw Pink Floyd play Dark Side Of The Moon live, and witnessed Supertramp perform Crime Of The Century before many knew who they were - all while wearing a great coat and carrying a crate of Newcastle Brown with me.

"These experiences and others led me to electrify my playing to work out what my heroes were doing. Now, 50 years later, I am paying my dues to them in my current style, which you can loosely define as cinematically orchestral but with an in-depth understanding of prog. Why take this on? The originals are complex works which are fiendishly difficult in places and already well-loved. Lockdowns are part of it, but the main reason is that I feel I can shine a new light on the material - and in places it is an unexpected light.

"This album has been a labour of love, both for the people who drove me to write music in the first place and led me ultimately to being able to call myself a composer, and, as always, for the music."

You can see a work-in-progress of the upcoming album art by David Read, which references some of the tracks on the album, along with the tracklisting below.

Tales From A Misspent Youth – Volume 1 will be released in a jewel case as a double CD and, as you can see, runs to just over two hours. It will be accompanied by a booklet containing comprehensive sleeve notes written by Clive explaining the concept of the album, and giving detailed information about the tracks.

UK/RoW pre-order.

EU pre-order.

Clive Mitten

(Image credit: Press)

Clive Mitten: Tales From A Misspent Youth – Volume 1

Disc 1
1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond
2. Jeux Sans Frontiers
3. Tubular Bells (side one)
4. Rudy
5. Supper's Ready

Disc 2
1. Echoes
2. Solsbury Hill
3. Countdown
4. La Villa Strangiato
5. School
6. Bloody Well Right
7. Xanadu
8. Living In The Past
9. In The Cage Medley

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.