Skip to main content

Brainticket journey to their Past, Present and Future

Krautrock pioneers Brainticket have announced details of their upcoming studio album – their first in 15 years.

Titled Past, Present and Future, it will launch on February 17 via Purple Pyramid Records. Their last studio outing was 2000’s Alchemic Universe.

Founder Joel Vandroogenbroeck is joined on the record by longtime UK Subs guitarist Nicky Garratt and musician and producer Jurgen Engler from German industrial outfit Die Krupps. Drummer Jason Willer and singer/keyboardist Kephera Moon, both from Hawkwind co-founder Nik Turner’s band, complete the lineup.

Vandroogenbroeck says of album opener Dancing On The Volcano: “From the original Brainticket rhythm, destiny has led us to the South East Asia meditative, mature philosophic concept of life. The last movement of the piece leads us to the sensation of dancing, moving, fully present, living time again.”

The album is currently available to pre-order on CD (opens in new tab) and digital download from iTunes (opens in new tab). A double gatefold vinyl release will also issued.

Past, Present & Future tracklist

  1. Dancing On The Volcano Part 1 2. Dancing On The Volcano Part 2 3. Reality Of Dreams 4. Proto Alchemy 5. Riding The Comet 6. East Moon 7. Singularity 8. Egyptian Gods Of The Sky 9. Brainticket Blues

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.