Skip to main content

Al Jourgensen talks AmeriKKKant motivation

Al Jourgensen
Al Jourgensen (Image credit: Getty)

Al Jourgensen has given an interview explaining the motivation behind Ministry’s upcoming album AmeriKKKant.

It’s set to arrive on March 9 via Nuclear Blast, with the frontman previously saying that while the record was partially a reaction to the election of US president Donald Trump, there were other forces at work.

But in a new video, he’s given further details behind recording the follow-up to 2013’s From Beer To Eternity – and he reveals he’s trying to explain how a president can be elected when more than half of the population didn’t vote for them.

He says: “I set about a journey to explain that when one in three people decide something, it becomes the head of a democratic society.

“It doesn’t make sense. I wanted to try and explain why. It was almost like a mea culpa – or something to my European friends, like, ‘Look, we’re really sorry, but this is why it happened and now we’ve got to work to make sure it doesn’t happen again.’”

Earlier this month, Ministry released a lyric video for their track Wargasm, featuring a guest appearance from Fear Factory’s Burton C Bell.

AmeriKKKant is now available for pre-order (opens in new tab). Find the cover art and tracklist below.

Ministry AmeriKKKant tracklist

  1. I Know Words
  2. Twilight Zone
  3. Victims Of A Clown
  4. TV5/4Chan
  5. We’re Tired Of It
  6. Wargasm
  7. Antifa
  8. Game Over
  9. AmeriKKKa

My Life Story | Ministry's Al Jourgensen

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.