Al Jourgensen: Our morality systems are completely out the window

Al Jourgensen

Ministry’s Al Jourgensen has spoken about the writing process behind upcoming album AmeriKKKant.

It’s due for release on March 9 via Nuclear Blast, with the band launching the hard-hitting video for Antifa in December last year.

Jourgensen began putting the pieces in place for the record the day after Donald Trump was elected US president. And while the album does partially focus on Trump, Jorgensen reports there’s more to it that that.

He says: “Even the ruling class overlords don’t know who’s in charge. As a society, we’re not pulling our weight.

“Our value and morality systems are completely out the window. It’s become all about a monetary system, what every action is based on.

“You make bad mistakes as a human being when you’re chasing the green dragon, the almighty dollar. When that’s the motivating factor in our actions, we end up with someone like Trump. And that’s what I wanted to comment on with this record.”

Find the full video below, along with the AmeriKKKant cover art and tracklist.

AmeriKKKant is now available for pre-order.

Ministry AmeriKKKant tracklist

  1. I Know Words
  2. Twilight Zone
  3. Victims Of A Clown
  4. TV5/4Chan
  5. We’re Tired Of It
  6. Wargasm
  7. Antifa
  8. Game Over
  9. AmeriKKKa

The Gospel According To Al Jourgensen

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.