Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross plot trilogy of Watchmen albums

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross attend the premiere of Watchmen in Los Angeles (Image credit: Rich Fury - Getty)

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are to release three separate soundtracks to HBO’s new Watchmen series.

The nine-part series based on Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons’ 1986 graphic novel has just begun, with the Nine Inch Nails (opens in new tab) leader and Ross set to release the first album on November 4. 

The second will follow on November 25, with the final part of the trilogy arriving on December 16.

Each album will be released on digital and streaming platforms and on heavyweight 180g vinyl.

While the tracklists and cover art for all three volumes are currently under wraps, the duo have released an audio video for the end credits which can be seen below.

Watchmen is set in an alternative universe where masked vigilantes have become outlawed, with the TV series starring Jeremy Irons, Regina King, Don Johnson, Tim Blake Johnson, Sara Vickers and Dylan Schombing.

Watchmen graphic novel (opens in new tab)

Watchmen graphic novel (opens in new tab)
Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons’ 1986 graphic novel is classic that everyone should read - and with the new nine-part series now being screened on HBO, this is a great time to pick up a copy.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.