Castro confirms Madness album

Tommy Castro and the Painkillers will release second album Method To My Madness on October 23, the mainman has confirmed.

And he describes the follow-up to 2014’s The Devil You Know as a return to his “basic ingredients” of blues and soul, while still presenting something different from his past works.

Six-time Blues Music Awards winner Castro says: “I’ve always been a blues guy – it’s what I’m meant to do. But I’m always listening and reacting to what’s going on in the outside world, experimenting with my guitar tone and my songwriting to keep my music fresh.

“With the new album I went for the energy of connecting with my band. We kept everything raw, capturing the feeling of playing live.”

He adds: “I’m not about being perfect – I’m about being real.”

Castro and the Painkillers launch a North American tour following the launch of Method To My Madness via Alligator.


  1. Common Ground
  2. Shine A Light
  3. Method To My Madness
  4. Died And Gone To Heaven
  5. Got A Lot
  6. No Such Luck
  7. Two Hearts
  8. I’m Qualified
  9. Ride
  10. Lose Lose
  11. All About The Cash
  12. Bad Luck
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.