The Wildhearts to release double live album 30 Year Itch 'while we're still alive'

The Wildhearts
(Image credit: The Wildhearts)

The Wildhearts will release a live album, 30 Year Itch, on December 4. The album captures the classic reformed lineup – Ginger Wildheart, CJ Wildheart, Ritch Battersby and Danny McCormack – at their fiery best, during last year's Renaissance Men and Diagnosis tours.

"There are a few authorised bootleg live albums of The Wildhearts doing the rounds," says Ginger, "but as soon as Danny rejoined the band I knew I had to capture the classic Wildhearts line up on record. There were a few reasons for this, the main one being that we're still alive, which is a situation that could change at any second with this group.
"I also wanted people to hear how insanely powerful The Wildhearts are as a live band. Pounding drums, chainsaw bass and bombastic guitar riffs, all underpinning harmony vocals and huge anthemic songs that every member of the audience sings like a football crowd. It's a surprisingly emotional blend of noise, passion and unity.
"As far as I'm concerned this is a classic album by a unique band playing timeless songs that don't fit into any established genre. Is it rock? Is it punk? Who cares, it's The Wildhearts."

"Timeless songs with all you mad bastards singing your hearts out on," adds Dave Draper, who mastered the album. "What’s not to like? Ginger gave me two instructions: 'Loud guitars and loud crowd'… I didn’t have a choice in either as that’s what was captured during the recording, Thank you for making my job a lot easier, guys!”

30 Year Itch will be released on December 4 and will be available as an exclusive limited edition coloured vinyl version, plus a CD release containing four exclusive postcards.

Renaissance Men was voted Classic Rock's Best Album Of 2019


The Wildhearts Thirty Year Itch tracklist

1 - Dislocated
2 - Everlone
3 - Suckerpunch
4 - Anthem
5 - Diagnosis
6 - TV Tan
7 - The Jackson Whites
8 - Let Em Go
9 - Vanilla Radio
10 - Urge
11 - Mazel Tov Cocktail
12 - Sick Of Drugs
13 - Someone Who Won’t Let Me Go
14 - The Revolution Will Be Televised
15 - Caffeine Bomb
16 - Love U Til I Don’t
17 - I Wanna Go Where The People Go

The Wildhearts: 30 Year Itch

(Image credit: Rounder Records)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.