The Compulsions to issue 2nd album in April

Rob Carlyle And The Compulsions will release their second album in April.

The band is fronted by Carlyle and also includes Guns N’ Roses members Frank Ferrer and Richard Fortus as well as former Hanoi Rocks bassist Sami Yaffa.

Their second album Dirty Fun is released on April 13 via Compulsion Records. It’s the follow-up to 2011 debut Beat The Devil.

Carlyle says: “When I was a kid, music wasn’t something you’d multitask to. When you heard a song like Black Dog for the first time, you’d drop everything you were doing and just listen to it.

“But a lot of today’s music seems like sonic wallpaper. There’s nothing intrusive or memorable about it, and most of it sounds really polite. We’re definitely not going for that.

Lucky, the first single off Dirty Fun, is layered with rootsy guitar interplay, honky-tonk piano and a soaring horn section, and is a fitting introduction to the album’s ragged glory.

“A lot of our early songs were about being down and out. This time around, I wanted to write something more positive.”

Dirty Fun tracklist

  1. Hellbound Babies 2. Silly Little Woman 3. Evil Bastards 4. Lucky 5. House Of Rock 6. Long Tall Sally 7. The Feel 8. I Still Got The Hots For You, Baby 9. Stay Eazy 10. Buzz Awhile

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.