Testament, Deicide, Crowbar men hit Devil’s Highway

Members of Testament, Deicide, Crowbar, Trouble and Dimmu Borgir have formed classic metal supergroup Devil’s Highway – and their debut album will be finished in December.

The supergroup features vocalist Kyle Thomas of Trouble and Exhorder fame; guitarist Ralph Santolla (Deicide, Obituary, Death); guitarist Matt Brunson (Crowbar, Kingdom Of Sorrow); bassist Steve DiGiorgio (Testament, Sadus); and drummer Tony Laureano (Dimmu Borgir, Nile).

Thomas says their sound is influenced by Black Sabbath, Alice In Chains, Ozzy Osbourne and early Scorpions. He adds: “I met Ralph on tour and we hit it off perfectly. He played me some songs and asked if I’d be interested in working with him. I immediately said yes.”

The project stepped up a notch after Thomas, Santolla, DiGiorgio and Laureano toured Japan as the Death Metal Allstars. “We decided it was so much fun that we should make a real band,” says the singer.

“Some of my closest friends say this could be the best material I’ve ever been involved with. I’m honoured to be in the mix.”

The Devil’s Highway debut is expected early next year. The band have released taster track Blighted House.

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.