Terry Pratchett’s Discworld comes to vinyl for the first time

The Discworld vinyl box set
The Discworld vinyl box set (Image credit: BBC)

A collection of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels are coming to vinyl for the very first time.

The 15-disc illustrated box set will be released through the BBC on November 29 and will contain Mort, Wyrd Sisters, Guards! Guards!, Eric, Small Gods, Night Watch and the bonus non-Discworld tale Only You Can Save Mankind.

The yarns have been brought to life by Anton Lesser, Sheila Hancock, Martin Jarvis, Melvyn Hayes, Philip Jackson, Alex Jennings, Geoffrey Whitehead, Patrick Barlow and Mark Heap with Death “as ever, played by himself.”

Every disc of the BBC Radio dramatisations have been pressed on heavyweight 180g ‘DiscSwirl’ vinyl, with each of the seven gatefold sleeves containing liner notes from Stephen Briggs – the co-author of The Discworld Companion.

A recreation of the Discworld map also features across the 15 printed inner bags, while Night Watch and Only You Can Save Mankind will include themed etchings on the b-side.

The box set is now available to pre-order. Find further details below.

In 2013, Pratchett teamed up with Steeleye Span for their Wintersmith album – a record largely inspired by the Discworld novels which also featured narration by the late author who died in 2015.

(Image credit: BBC)

Terry Pratchett's Discworld vinyl box set

Terry Pratchett's Discworld vinyl box set
A collection of six of Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels are brought to life in this box set from the BBC. The 15-disc collection also features the non-Discworld tale Only You Can Save Mankind.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.