Swervedriver are back with a new album and single

(Image credit: Steve Gullick)

Swervedriver will release their new studio album in early 2019.

The UK outfit have just signed a new record deal with Mogwai’s Rock Action label, with the follow-up to 2015’s I Wasn’t Born To Lose You titled Future Ruins. It’ll arrive on January 25.

To mark the announcement, Swervedriver have released a video for the album’s opening track Mary Winter. Check it out below.

Vocalist and guitarist Adam Franklin says: “In Mary Winter, the character is a spaceman who’s trying to remember what life is really like. There’s a lot of foreboding with regard to the future on this album.” 

I Wasn’t Born To Lose You was Swervedriver’s first album since 1998’s 99th Dream, with Franklin saying that he’s loving being back in the band.

He adds: “We’re playing places that we’ve either not played in a long time or new places, like Singapore, where there were 20-year-old kids there and they’re singing the words to the new songs.

“We don’t want to be the band that just plays the old albums. We’re glad to have a whole bunch of new songs. We’re on it again.”

Future Ruins is now available for pre-order from Rock Action and Amazon.

Swervedriver - Future Ruins
1. Mary Winter
2. The Lonely Crowd Fades In The Air
3. Future Ruins
4. Theeascending
5. Drone Lover
6. Spiked Flower
7. Everybody’s Going Somewhere And No-One’s Going Anywhere
8. Golden Remedy
9. Good Times
10. Radio-Silent

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.