Smashing Pumpkins are back with a new album and single

(Image credit: Linda Strawberry)

Smashing Pumpkins have announced that their highly anticipated new album featuring original members Billy Corgan, Jimmy Chamberlin and James Iha will be out later this year.

It’s titled Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun and it’ll arrive on November 16 via Corgan’s Martha’s Music label/Napalm Records.

The eight-track record also features Jeff Schroeder and was recorded at Shangri La Studios, Malibu, California, with producer Rick Rubin.

And, to mark the announcement of the first album to feature the original trio in 18 years, Smashing Pumpkins have released a lyric video for their new single Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts). Check it out below.

The Pumpkins previously revealed Solara from the new album.

Smashing Pumpkins recently wrapped up a North American tour and will return to the UK and Europe in October for further shows.

Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun
1. Knights Of Malta
2. Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)
3. Travels
4. Solara
5. Alienation
6. Marchin’ On
7. With Sympathy
8. Seek And You Shall Destroy

Smashing Pumpkins remaining 2018 tour dates
Oct 16: London Wembley Arena, UK
Oct 16: Bologna Unipol Arena, Italy
Nov 30: Chicago Aragon Ballroom, IL

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.