Slipknot’s Sid Wilson launches video for his new solo single

(Image credit: Justin Baker/WireImage - Getty)

Slipknot DJ Sid Wilson has revealed plans to release a solo album later this year.

The strangely titled ∫∑x©∆p∆D∑∫ øƒ †h3 høP∑£3∫∫ ®øbø†¡¢ will arrive on August 17, with Wilson preceding the launch with the release of a video for lead track †He©U®e which can be watched below.

Wilson explains (via The PRP): “∫∑x©∆p∆D∑∫ øƒ †h3 høP∑£3∫∫ ®øbø†¡¢ is a metaphoric creative representation of the heart and mind inside a body of work known as the artist “SID” (tHe aLieN kiNg). 

“The cover art can be translated as this… SID is an alien without a home planet traveling through dark space being assimilated by a cold robotic force known as “tHe feMALe”, and is attempting to save the last part of him that remains human, his heart. 

“Will he conquer love or be consumed by the robotic force sweeping the Universe?”

The album is now available to pre-order via Apple’s iTunes.

Slipknot, meanwhile, are currently putting the pieces in place for their sixth studio album which is expected sometime in 2019, with frontman Corey Taylor saying last month that the demos are sounding Iowa levels of heavy.”

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.